Summer projects progress

Over the summer I have had a few things on the go. The Allietare mystery quilt by Bonnie Hunter has been fun, a lot of piecing using only fabrics from my stash. To make sure it looks very scrappy I have taken to laying out the units before I finalise blocks to make sure there is an even distribution across the whole quilt. Still a lot of holes, but in the home straight on this one. This has been a great project to share with friends, as many others have done. See many more on the link up.

Allietare layout

The garden project is finished. The last part is a simple water bowl with a solar powered pump making a pretty bubbling stream when the sun is shining. After visiting a number of suppliers, in the end I used just two terracotta pots, some plastic tubing, a soy milk container lid and a bit of plumbers silicone tape.  It makes a gentle sound as the water spills over onto the stones. Already thornbills and fantails have it on their morning rounds. The waterlilies in another of my ponds have flowered beautifully all summer.

 

And as I have finished the Montmellic Mystery quilt, I have gone back to the Morrell Quilt, also by Di Ford. This quilt has 60 blocks plus a central medallion and includes hand piecing, fussy cutting, needle turn appliqué and button hole broderie perse as some of the many techniques used. I started this quite a few years ago in a class with Di at Needles and Pins in Warrandyte. So far I have completed 27 of the blocks and the centre, so nearly half way.

IMG_2262

This broderie perse is a pleasant block to work on in the evening.

Finally, I am on the Waverley Patchworkers Quilt Show committee my local guild in Melbourne, Victoria. Our show is on 28 and 29 May 2016 at the Mount Waverley Community Centre, so I have been busy helping get things underway. While I was not involved in the creation of the quilt that is going to be raffled in support of Waverley Benevolent Society, I was as excited as everyone else when it was unveiled at our meeting last month. It is stunning!

2 responses to “Summer projects progress

  1. You have been so busy! Great results all round. The Waverley page is refusing to open for me at the moment (internet problems). Will have to try it when I am in town next.

  2. What a busy person you have been, love your waterlilies. Clever idea for your water feature and it must be satisfying to get projects finished.

Leave a Reply

