Highlights

The other day while sitting near large windows overlooking my garden, I heard a pair of ravens making a particularly loud noise. I looked up from the book I was reading, ok I confess, the game I was playing on my iPad, to see my neighbour’s tree filled with sulphur crested cockatoos.

What is interesting about this other than the birds, is that I don’t usually see that particular tree. It was only when it was dotted with the white of the birds that my attention was drawn to it. The second picture is taken later in the day when the low afternoon sun hits the foliage behind the delicate branches. I am now paying closer attention to the greenery in this part of my view.

img_3975 I tried to get closer to the birds by walking through the low shrubbery that separates my garden from the adjoining driveway; actually waist high weeds and some honeysuckle with a mind of its own coming in from my neighbour to the front. The birds were crunching loudly on seedpods seemingly ignoring all else. I was still about 15m away when one cockatoo screeched out the alarm and the whole flock took off in all directions. There must have been about twenty of them.

 

Leave a Reply

