Why violet?

Mystery, week 4:  Now this is just too easy. Tri Recs were covered in week 2, but then again it doesn’t hurt to practise some more. This time it is with the dark purple and neutrals, so I am using my six dark violets from week 3 and the dark greys that have not been used since week 1.

Even though there are only 40 blocks to make, it has taken me most of Sunday because I have been distracted. First by the anticipation of the CFA Santa Run, an annual tradition among volunteer fire brigades in rural and urban fringe communities in Victoria and my second distraction stemmed from this, we will come to it later.

All morning the bells and sirens of fire trucks and support vehicles echoed around the neighbourhood, sometimes coming closer, then further away. Finally Santa arrived, distributing good cheer and bags of snacks, much to the satisfaction of my very grown up daughter, who had come to visit specially with my equally excited teenage granddaughter.

I had hoped in this week the mystery would have moved on to the yellow fabric, because then I could have used the bag of twisties as my colour photo. This was not to be, and in truth the snacks were not this type, but something quite inedible; the snack food photo is from my archive taken after the 2012 Santa run.

But this got me thinking about snacks and this became my other not sewing distraction.

One of my favourite snacks when I was about the age of my granddaughter, was a Violet Crumble, some kids referred to them as ‘violent rumbles’. It is a chocolate coated honeycomb bar, invented as I discovered, in Melbourne. Until today I had never been curious about the name, but violet has been on my mind. The bar is packaged in a deep purple metallic wrapper, but it is not a Cadbury product. I had to check all this with a quick trip to the shops followed by a little nibble. I can confirm that they still taste good, not sickly sweet like the competition.img_4411After much research – ok Wikipedia – I learned that Abel Hoadley, who had previously been in preserves and jam making, established a confectionery business in 1913 and one of his early popular assortments contained honeycomb. In order to stop these bars sticking together he had them chocolate dipped. He called them a Crumble, but couldn’t register that as a name, so he added Violet, after his wife’s favourite flower and wrapped them in purple, her favourite colour.

Over 100 years later, and after the business going through several takeovers, Violet Crumble is still being made in Melbourne, under the Nestlé brand. For those now feeling nostalgic, Lyn Walsh has written an excellent potted history with illustrations from the National Library of Australia collection.

Finally I got on with sewing, and completed the required units including this one using my new elephant fabric. Then I rewarded myself with the rest of the Violet Crumble.img_4412

Here is the link to Bonnie Hunter’s En Provence Mystery Monday Linkup part 4 – the design of this quilt remains quite a mystery.

 

 

 

4 responses to “Why violet?

  1. Now I’m wondering what the snacks were that were more inedible than Chicken Twisties! I haven’t had a Violet Crumble for a few years – since I bought one for a friend visiting from the US who wondered what it was. But now I’m tempted to go and get one.

    Your violet elephants are looking good.

  2. My favourite as a child was a Cherry Ripe, but only on very special occasions. I also haven’t had a Violet Crumble for ages. Our CFA comes on Christmas morning, I am the only one in our Court who goes out to wave at Santa…and he gives me a bag of sweets. Cute elephants.

  3. When I went to England in 1966 I was disappointed I could not find Violet
    Crumbles. I eventually found Crunchie bars, but they were not as good!!

  4. violet crumbles were the love of my life in primary school and up….will have to look for them now, as i haven’t seen one for ages. Had forgotten it was Hoadleys

Leave a Reply

