Now for the leftovers

Just like a great meal, a quilt’s leftovers can be made into something even more delicious. I finished making the quilt top in the Bonnie Hunter En Provence mystery in January. The missing borders are now on, as you can see a tweaked them a little to bring in a tiny bit of colour.

Since then I have been playing around with ideas for the left over bits and pieces. So far I have made some units with the half square triangles cut off the ends of strips when making the hourglass units in the mystery quilt. I have added circles made from a set of 2.5″ squares I received late last year and appliquéd onto grey rectangles. The bits leftover from cutting strips for the mystery will also go somewhere.

img_5197

There will be more solid greys in the finished piece – it is still very much a work in progress.

The final link up for En Provence can be found here, there are lots and lots of finished tops and quilts to see.

6 responses to “Now for the leftovers

  1. Your “left-over” quilt looks like fun!

  2. Love it, very modern.

  3. I love what you are doing with your leftovers.

  4. Great idea to actually use up those bits instead of putting them in a bag and forgetting about them (like I do). I’m going to try and change my ways! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

