Many triangles

 

Designing a quilt made of leftovers is a slow process. Here is the the sketch that is my starting point.

img_5197

After sewing the triangles into 4 patches with zero to four triangles in each patch, I tried different layouts of the 56 units. I quite like the movement from lighter to darker.

img_5232

To emphasise this I shuffled the units into a 4 by 14 array and joined them into larger squares which are easier to handle. Next I needed work out how the blocks with the appliqué circles will interact with the triangles. This involved a lot of maths, as the two types of units are not the same size.

Today I am thinking the band of falling triangles will be intersected at two points by the circle bricks. To lock in this thought I have sewn them into three panels and will move on to finishing the appliqué units.

img_5271

 

One response to “Many triangles

  1. Fascinating! Looking forward to seeing the final piece.

Leave a Reply

