A hot day in Cranbourne

img_5275The sign says it all. Once again Leesa Chandler has brought together quilts and fabric to celebrate Australian flora at the beautiful Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne.

This year a bag challenge was added to the mix. Participants used the same pattern shape and make a bag of any size with an Australian theme.  The lively Blue Wren was by Sue de Vanny and Lauren of Ballarat had some fun with her Playschool’s Humpty visits Uluru. The one I would happily take home Coober Pedy Opals made by Chris of Eltham.

img_5285

Sue de Vanny is the featured textile artist, her appliqué technique really brings the subject to life. You may remember the remarkable quilt Tram Route No 10 which won viewer’s choice at  AQC in 2014.

Beginning True received an Honourable Mention at the same exhibition in 2015.

Here are some of other quilts that caught my eye in the downstair display, but were difficult to photograph because of the sun streaming in the windows.

The exhibition is open every day until March 5.

Even though the day was extremely hot I went out into the gardens looking for some planting ideas. The red sand garden seems to go on forever and the tractor just added to that vast vista.img_5306

The Swamp Lily Crinum pedunculaqum had a subtle perfume and is now on my planting list. I didn’t venture away from the main path after passing this sign, so the lily is the only new idea from today’s visit.

 

Although I really like weeping trees, these two Acacia cultriformis ‘Cascade’ are a bit extreme.
After seeing the prop on the venerable Grass Tree Xanthorrhoea johnsonii, I don’t feel so bad about the post holding up a branch of my weeping acacia. The foliage associated with the supported branch is at the top left. Before the branch was hefted up by two of the burly tree loppers allowing me to put the post underneath, the leaves were scraping the ground and the path below was blocked.

img_5318On the way out I spotted a wallaby enjoying the deep shade, it is usually Southern Brown bandicoots that can bee seen under the casuarina beside the path to the carpark, but not this day.

Finally, in the middle of nowhere, also known as Bullarto Rd West, some naked ladies. I always got these confused with Nerines, but thanks to Weednstitch I can correctly identify the Amaryllis belladonna growing beside the road.img_5321

2 responses to “A hot day in Cranbourne

  1. Sounds like a good day out. I wouldn’t have ventured past the sign, either. Glad my blog is useful for something!

  2. Jenni Strachan

    Thank you taking me along to the Gardens and Exhibition via your blog, unable to get there at the moment. I always enjoy a visit to Cranborne, it is a Botanical garden with a difference.

Leave a Reply

