Wriggle room

After walking 2.5 km from home I again meet the Mullum Mullum Creek as it goes under Kalinda Road.

It is narrow, choked with weeds and the sides have been reinforced with stones. The reserve leading to Oban Road is also narrow, with fences on both sides and just enough space beside the creek for a path.

Despite this, as I stood on the bridge leading to Peter Vergers Reserve small groups of King Parrots flew among the trees, following the creek. These tiny bush corridors are really important.

After an undignified passage under Oban Road, the creek is given plenty of space to stretch.

This is busy road leading down to Maroondah Highway to the left. South of the creek is now all light industry.

The wide reserve space puzzled me so I looked up old survey maps at the State Library. The Mullum Mullum Creek forms the boundary between the County of Evelyn and the County of Mornington. For the stretch I had walked so far a mere 20 links had been reserved for the creek. This is about four metres. But from Oban Road for about a kilometre the reserve granted is 243 links wide. I wonder if this was because the creek really wriggles around at this point and so the course was difficult to pinpoint.

This 1916 plan showing the creation of Mullum Mullum Road is the section I am about to walk. These lots would have all been orchards I think.

A big revegetation project in this area has restored many of the indigenous species, preserved older trees and protected the waterway which is vulnerable to erosion.

There is a path on both sides of the creek for part of the trail. On the south side however you are very close to the car yards that line the Highway.

Having walked as far as Leonard Street I am now over 5 km from home this is as far as I can go by foot.

For the next stage I will have to drive to my starting point, the Mullum Mullum Reserve.

2 thoughts on “Wriggle room

  1. Jenni Strachan

    Thank you for your blog virtual walk along your pathway to the river, you are nearly there. Nature is certainly beautiful in your area.

    Reply
  2. Vireya

    I’m glad that people are recognising the importance of these suburban creeks now. They really are lifelines for wildlife.

    Reply

Leave a comment