Obstacles

Time to get back on track and follow the Mullum Mullum Trail again. I left it across Quarry Road from the Yarran Dheran Reserve in Mitcham and now plan to follow the creek again.

My first attempt was a track along the west bank. Started off well, a wide path heading north but it narrowed and became an impassable mass of mud with the path beyond curving away from the water.

I backtracked, studied a map and still could not figure out where the trail began. Not a direction sign to be found anywhere.

There was a path leading to the right, I had assumed this was another way back to the road and my daughter who lives in the area thought this too. But it is not. It is the Mullum Mullum Trail as built by the City of Manningham, they must assume everyone who wants to use it is coming from the other direction and already knows where it is.

The path leads high above the creek, with a good view back to the EastLink Trail and of the creek flowing north.

But my day’s journey seemed doomed.

In just a few hundred metres the path was closed. Undaunted I used my map to find another track, close to the east bank of the creek. It was a bonus really as there were good water views, even if it is impossible to find a totally pristine shot.

After a while I headed back up to the main trail. I had missed views of backyards, one of which is obviously owned by devoted pet owners. And I discovered the reason for the trail closure. At some time a tree had come down, machinery was brought in to remove it, but the council is very slow to open things up again. I met a number of walkers and cyclists who told me this was not unusual and they mostly ignored the closures.

After following the boardwalk through beautiful bushland I wasn’t surprised to find the fence closing the trail at Heads Road had been opened and happily went through it leaving the forbidden section behind me.

Here at last a direction sign, but not one I wanted to see. The next section, to Park Road is marked (to be constructed). Another obstacle on my quest to follow the Mullum Mullum Creek all the way to the Yarra.

2 thoughts on “Obstacles

  1. Jenni Strachan

    Sometimes changing direction can bring unexpected surprises, the scenery looks lovely. At least the council is doing and maintaining the walkways.

    Reply

Leave a comment